Brainstorming a Bass Kit - Looking for Advice

Advice and tips on building a Carvin Guitars kit.

Moderators: Mike Jones, Bundy, RockCrue, soundchick, ChrisH, peb

JS311

Brainstorming a Bass Kit - Looking for Advice

Postby JS311 » Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:45 am

Greetings all!

This is my first post here, and this newbie is looking to gain some friendly wisdom from you, more seasoned Carvin/Kieselites. I'm by no means a pro musician...more of a hobbiest if it matters, haha. I've owned a few Carvins over the past decade, a DC145 and ST300, and a BK4 kit bass I built circa '03 or '04; all of them excellent, but all which are no longer with me...and I especially miss my old BK4! Anyway, I'm getting SERIOUSLY back into the bass groove this year, and I'm now brainstorming a bass kit build in the BK40. With my experience from my old kit bass, I know it will be a knock-out instrument...but I am stuck on a few options. I'm planning at least having the stock single-coils, black hardware, and rosewood board but need help/wisdom with the following:

How's everyone's experience with the J99A p/u, especially in passive (I remember mine had the old J99s that were terrific!). Or will these ship with the new JVA singles? I don't think either the J99A or JVA will disappoint either way! :-D

Walnut tone and weight compared to alder (I'm leaning toward the latter...for now, haha!).

Does the active/passive preamp option have the mid boost/cut, and can you blend passive and active levels with it? how does the active tone compare to passive tone with these single coils?